UGC Regional Offices


Pursuance to the National Policy on Education (1986), the UGC de-centralised its working by opening seven regional offices catering to the states under it. The objectives of setting up these offices were to bring about de-centralisation and to ensure that a large number of colleges through out the country, which are covered under Section 2(f) and 12(B) of the UGC Act, will have better opportunites of response to their needs and problems by way of easier access.


The following schemes are being implemented by the regional offices

  • Development of Colleges affiliated to State Universities

  • Minor Research Projects for College teachers

  • Autonomous Colleges

  • Seminar/Symposia/Conference etc. for colleges

  • Construction of Women's Hostel (Special scheme)

  • Award of Teacher Fellowship to College Teachers for doing M.Phil/Ph.D.

  • Financial assistance to Teachers - Visually Handicapped (Blind)


The details of the regional office viz. the States assigned to each regional office are given below :

  1. Southern Eastern Regional Office (SERO)

    Website:  < >
    Location: Hyderabad   < see contact details >
    Date of Establishment: 20.09.1994
    Total number of Colleges: 668
    States Covered: Andhra Pradesh, Puducherry, Andman & Nicobar and Tamil Nadu

  2. Western Regional Office (WRO)

    Website:  < >
    Location: Pune   < see contact details >
    Date of Establishment: 11.11.1994
    Total number of Colleges: 996
    States Covered: Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa, Dadar & Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu

  3. Central Regional Office (CRO)

    Website:  < >
    Location: Bhopal   < see contact details >
    Date of Establishment: 01.12.1994
    Total number of Colleges: 791
    States Covered:Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan

  4. Northern Regional College Bureua (NRCB)

    Website:  < >
    Location: Delhi   < see contact details >
    Total number of Colleges: 922
    States Covered: Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Chandigarh, Haryana and Uttar Pradesh

  5. North-Eastern Regional Office (NERO)

    Website:  < >
    Location: Guwahati   < see contact details >
    Date of Establishment: 01.04.1995
    Total number of Colleges: 253
    States Covered: Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Manipur, Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland

  6. Eastern Regional Office (ERO)

    Website:  < >
    Location: Kolkata   < see contact details >
    Date of Establishment: 03.09.1996
    Total number of Colleges: 1009
    States Covered: West Bengal, Bihar, Orissa and Sikkim

  7. South-Western Regional Office (SWRO)

    Website:  < >
    Location: Bangalore   < see contact details >
    Date of Establishment: 25.04.1999
    Total number of Colleges: 714
    States Covered: Kerala, Karnataka and Lakshadweep

  8. < UGC Regional Offices Archive Notices >