Prof. Virander Singh Chauhan, Chairman, University Grants Commission, New Delhi

From the Chairman’s Desk

Prof. Virander Singh Chauhan obtained his Bachelors, Masters and Doctorate in Chemistry from Delhi University. In addition to a brilliant academic record, he has also been an outstanding sportsman and represented Delhi University and Oxford University in athletics and cross country. He won the prestigious Rhodes scholarship (1974) to study at Oxford University. Upon his return to India in 1979, he taught at St. Stephen’s College, IIT - Kanpur, and Delhi University. In 1988, he joined the International Centre for Genetic and Biotechnology (ICGEB) and became its Director in 1998, a position he held until 2014.

His major scientific contributions are in the fields of malaria vaccine and drug development and in study of peptides of biological importance. An experimental malaria vaccine that was developed entirely in India was taken to clinical trials in India. His current research is also focused on developing peptide based nanostructures for efficacious delivery of biomolecules. His scientific interests also include advocacy in infectious diseases like HIV and TB in India. He has published more than 250 research papers and guided more than 50 research students.

He is also deeply involved in human resource development through major involvement in selection processes of highly prestigious Rhodes scholarships, Inlaks Scholarships and Felix Scholarships for Indian students to study abroad. Prof. Chauhan has received several prestigious national and international awards including civil honour Padma Shri in 2012. He is elected member of all major National Science Academies - Indian National Science Academy (INSA); National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI); Indian Academy of Sciences (IASc); as well as Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS). He is Member of UGC and Chairman of the Executive Council of National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC). He is also Chairman of the Pay Review Committee for the 7th Pay Commission for all government funded institutions of Higher Education. Currently, he is holding the post of Chairman, UGC.

Contact Details...